Before you can access our CBD store, you will notice that we ask you if you are over 18. This is because there is a CBD age limit to smoke bud or buy various hemp-derived products. While 18 is the federally legal age to buy CBD, each state has specific laws. This is a confusing aspect for many of our clients. They want to try hemp products without breaking the law.
For this very important reason, we decided to explain in detail the CBD age requirements for all hemp products, as well as a few technicalities concerning the raw materials they are made of. We are strong supporters of natural remedies for recovery and relaxation and want to make sure that anyone can enjoy high-quality hemp extract – at the right age to buy CBD. So, how old do you have to be to buy CBD?
How Old You Should Be to Buy CBD in Your State?
The age limit is 18 for most US states. However, a handful of them have stricter laws. So, do you have to be 21 to buy CBD? The answer is yes if you live in:
- Rhode Island
Make sure to check how old you should be to buy CBD legally in your state prior to consuming it.
What Are the Federal Law Restrictions of Age to Buy CBD?
Whether it is vape or gummy, the age to buy CBD at federal level is 18. What does it mean? That if you buy, possess, and use hemp-derived products made according to the 2018 Farm Bill and you are over 18 years old, you did not commit any federal offense.
However, this does not mean that you may not be breaking local and state laws. Each of the 50 US states is free to decide how to treat cannabis products. And there are variations concerning the minimum CBD age requirement. For this reason, it is not enough to know that you are not breaking federal laws. You must also comply with the laws in your state.
Do You Have to Be 21 to Buy CBD Elsewhere in the US?
Not quite. There are several US states where you will not be able to find the age limit to buy gummy from a shop. These states are:
- West Virginia
In some cases, the states do not have a CBD age requirement because they limit the use of CBD to medicinal purposes only. Thus, hemp products are available to registered patients with a medical recommendation for this type of treatment.
You may wonder – why are there so many differences? Why do you have to check how old you have to be to buy CBD gummies when they are just for fun or relaxation? What most legislators fear is not CBD (cannabidiol) but another extract from hemp – THC. This is the compound which gives the sensation of high. And it is federally legal under the Farm Bill but only in concentrations below 0.3%.
Understanding the Differences between Industrial Hemp vs. Marijuana
What really determines the age when you can buy CBD oil or extract in each state is the issue of the raw material. Both marijuana and industrial hemp are related species of cannabis. What makes them different is that industrial hemp has a low concentration of THC (below the federal threshold of 0.3%) while marijuana can contain as much as 30% THC.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD Gummies?
For CBD gummies, the minimum age is still the CBD age requirement. Although many users see them as treats or desserts, the law treats them as CBD products.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD Oil?
CBD oil is used by some people as a medicinal product. Thus, the legal age to buy CBD varies for this hemp product. For example, in California, you must be 21 to buy CBD for recreational purposes. However, if you are 18 years old and have a doctor’s prescription, you can buy CBD oil.
Ask Us, We Answer: How Old Do You Have to Be to Purchase CBD?
TheFightDoctors.Com is your trusted supplier and knowledgeable source of information on all things CBD. We shared in this article how old you have to be to purchase CBD to stay in the clear in your state and we make sure that we do not sell our products in states where they are not legal. Visit our online store to find your favorite CBD products and feel free to get in touch to ask us questions about the CBD age limit!